Mommy wars

Happy Freaky Friday! It’s been one heck of a political week.
Let’s see…mommies Hilary Rosen and Ann Romney duked it out on t.v. and
Twitter in a media-hyped mom culture war. Rep. Allen West, R-Fla.,
was busy outing Democratic commies in Congress. The much hyped North
Korean missile couldn’t get it up…in the air that is. And the Warren
Buffett bonanza continued with the president pushing a rule named for
the billionaire Sultan of Omaha. Here’s mycolumn this week.
I was dealing with my own bit of mommy drama when I wrote the piece.
The whole saga involved trying to wrestle my kid’s Afro into puffs in between writing a piece on the Hilary Rosen dust up and three other pieces for MSNBC.
And damn it I was determined that work not interfere with Z’s baby music time rocking it out with Ukelele Phil.
I hit send on the first three stories and raced with the hubby, who I later dropped off at work, to the kiddie concert.
I watched and clapped for our lil hula girl in between guilty checks on the iPhone for editor comments.
Then we raced to the Hill to renew our congressional press passes only to be thwarted by a paperwork gaffe.
Ugh.
I looked down at Z who was taking a late nap in her stroller which would throw off the lunch sked. As a writer who works often from my home office while caring for my daughter I LIVE by the nap schedule. It’s one way to squeeze in writing and baby babble-free interviews.
Mercifully, I was able to wrap up my last piece before she awoke. But I’m still awaiting editor comments on two pieces, dancing with the kiddo to baby music in the den, writing a shopping list, and need to register to cover the DNC and RNC conventions.
Whew!
I think that’s partly why women reacted so sharply to Rosen’s comments. They thought they picked up on a dismissal of the challenges they face. Now, this wasn’t at all what Rosen, a working mother of twins, was suggesting. But the weather goes all hyperbolic in this type of political climate.
What do you think? Was the backlash fair or overblown?

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in Diapers and Deadlines and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mommy wars

  1. Gina W. says:

    Hey Halimah!
    Now, I can’t speak or type intelligently on many of the topics above but there’s two things in life that I’m pretty well versed in… working and being a mama. After a long day of teaching other people’s kids, I go home to do the real work of raising my 3 (which includes a set of twins as well). Have I ever sucked my teeth when I hear “stay-at-home” moms complain about being tired? Yes, I have done that a time or two. And when I input grades into our online grade book only to receive about 3 emails 15 min after the fact from some “grade book stalkin” mommy, have I rolled my eyes and muttered “get a damn job”??? GUILTY (head hanging real low right now). I guess my whole take on the stay at home vs. work outside the home thing has always been that both worlds have their highs and lows… but very different highs and lows. One cannot expect the other to fully understand or empathize with their plight so why does this debate keep coming up?? As in any situation, respect each other’s decision but keep an arsenal of mamas who understand your situation wholeheartedly so that you’ll have the support you need. That doesn’t mean we can’t all be friends but when I need someone to “get” how I can stay up until midnight and after grading papers and washing dishes then get back up at 5 am to make it all happen again …I might need to talk to someone who’s had to do that a time or two for a shoulder to lean on. You know what I’m sayin??

  2. I definitely feel you on needing to vibe with folks who just “get it.” I’ve found myself in this weird in between place ever since I started working from home more. I still have a foot firmly in the “working mom” world as a journalist, but my hours and time spent as Z’s primary caregiver means I’m also a “stay at home” mom these days too. So I can definitely still relate to the fatigue and juggling both sides go through. Obama is right. It IS work. Many props to you for doing it at home with three and then with students during school hours. How on earth do you find the energy? One kiddo wears me out some days. Lawd.

Leave a Reply

