Uprooting

I need to replant our irises.
The poor things are suffering in the dappled shade of our front walk. They would actually fare much better in the full sun of the border on the busy street just outside our fence. It’s a risky move since the plants, a gift from our sweet elderly neighbor’s garden, were just transplanted. And that street corner is notorious for zooming traffic and a near weekly accident.
But sometimes we, like plants, flourish best when we put down roots in the right spot. Even if that means moving to unfamiliar territory.
I discovered this recently when I left a job that, while prestigious and, at times, fun didn’t fully allow for the kind of growth that I as a writer and time as a mom that I need to flourish. It was okay for a season, but ultimately it was time to move on.
So I stepped out on faith and uprooted myself.
All of a sudden, the universe answered with amazing writing opportunities that have left me feeling creatively and personally fulfilled.
So I’m going to give those irises the same chance to grow today. And, if you’re feeling similarly stifled in your life, I encourage you to do the same.

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in The Rose Garden and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

