Food for thought?

My kid is underweight.
And I feel like a bad mommy. After all, she’s doing so well in so many other areas. Her height has always been in the 90-something percentile. She walked early, spoke early, and has moved on to baby sentences, running, jumping, and climbing. She was always such a chubby little cherub too.
I once went off on a friend for constantly calling my baby girl tubby.
But two months after mommy took over her primary care she’s lost weight.
What am I doing wrong?
The doc thinks it’s her busy toddlerhood coupled with eating lower calorie foods. My mom thinks making the kiddo walk so much is the culprit.
And here I thought a flexitarian diet, no juice, little sugar, and plenty of walking and play were the right things.
Apparently, the egg whites the hubby eats to cut his cholesterol aren’t the best for the kiddo. Ditto for the low fat yogurt.
So, of course I came home after the pediatric visit yesterday and tried to make the kiddo eat more during meals. And of course she refused.
And by refused I mean wailed and threw food on the floor when she had her fill.
So the trick is making higher calorie versions of foods for her, lower calorie versions for the hubby, and omega 3 and vitamin D rich versions for me (more IVF prep).
All of this occurred against the backdrop of a huge high profile interview falling through. And Z’s immunizations made her cranky last night poor thing. So we’re both tired today.
Plus, we have more IVF related tests today and we’re worried about the results. And I’m weighing some awesome writing opportunities which have also given me the jitters.
Inhale. Exhale.
Time to reclaim the zen and get some perspective.
After all, if a good friend of mine can remain centered while undergoing breast cancer treatments…If another good friend who is newly single can move across the globe with her toddler in tow for a fresh start…If amazing women make it work every day…
Then surely so can I.

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in Diapers and Deadlines and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

