The Odd Couple

He is the Dharma to my Greg. The Oscar to my Felix. My best friend of 20 years and husband for nearly 10.
Sometimes I don’t know why he loves me.
But he does and I’m grateful.
On days like today, days when I’ve been needlessly rigid about sticking to a schedule or he’s allowed a mountain of dishes to pile up, I have to check myself.
On the TODAY show this morning we had a heartwarming piece about a couple that’s been married for more than 70 years .
I love their candor. If more married couples kept it real it might help lots of folks, married and single alike, get perspective on what it really takes to keep a relationship healthy.
My husband and I have withstood a typhoon of troubles. We’ve been broke in a Brooklyn apartment. We’ve overcome our families’ religious and cultural differences and helped each learn a bit more about the other. We’ve grieved the death of his mother and our lost pregnancies.
When I think about how much we’ve grown I just want to get down on my knees and thank the Creator for the gift of my soulmate.
So, if you’re reading this and you’re wondering if you’ll ever know love, trust me…be the love you seek and love will find you.

20120427-133539.jpg

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in Diapers and Deadlines and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Odd Couple

  1. Ironsart says:

    Don’t sell yourself short, Hon. I’m the lucky one. And for the record, I believe piles of dirty dishes just make you that much happier once the kitchen’s clean – It’s all about spreading the joy :o)

  2. Bill Day says:

    You are both blessed to have each other. I hope you tell her often how gorgeous she is.

  3. Bill Day says:

    That is one of the most beautiful photos I’ve ever seen. It captures your love for each other perfectly.

Leave a Reply

