Surgery and yellow submarines

So I have to have a saline sonogram and mock embryo transfer on Thursday. Yes, it’s as uncomfortable as it sounds. And no, it does not involve mock embryos.
Both are really just procedures to make sure the pipes are working and plot out where to best implant any future embryos (if we’re lucky to have them) in our upcoming IVF. Doing so is supposed to help “optimize a successful outcome” (she says in her best tv doc voice).
The docs also say it’s “mildly uncomfortable.”
Umm, naw… That ish hurts.
A lot.
That’s why my clinic often does it under mild sedation.
Ahhhh. Sedation.
The last time I had to go under for this procedure I apparently had the entire recovery room staff join me in several rounds of “Yellow Submarine.”
Another time it was the theme from “Hair.”
Wonder what I’ll sing this time?

20120430-174714.jpg

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in In the Oven and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surgery and yellow submarines

  1. Bill Day says:

    Our (mock) prayers are with you. We all live in a yellow……..

    • Thanks! John says he knew all was well when he saw me being wheeled out and conducting the orderlies and nurses during the chorus. He said “I heard you all the way down the hall.”

Leave a Reply

