Kissing the ouchies away

There are certainly some perks to having minor surgery twice in one week.
Recovering on the couch means lots of cuddles from the hubby and kiddo, snuggles from the dog, chocolate ice cream and cake, and tons of movies.
To top it off, our brand new appliances arrive on Wednesday.
I can’t wait to cook on that five burner stove!
Not too shabby a way to spend the Mother’s Day week before I start my new dream job as a writer/producer for CNN Politics’ site.
I’ve been musing a lot about the way life has been moving at light speed these days. It really feels as if once I stepped out on faith and took a chance that maybe, just maybe I could have the life I dreamed the Universe answered.
So often we hold ourselves back by listening to the chorus of negative voices (both internal and external) that tell us that we are somehow less than and unworthy. I believe that’s when it is most important to protect and nurture that little unique flicker of light within.
Once I began truly believing that I deserve joy that joy began to manifest in all aspects of my life.
Now that’s not to say things are perfect. This IVF may not work, we may not have another baby.
But the important thing is that in pursuing joy, in believing that deep down profound happiness is possible, I’ve moved closer to Zen.

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in In the Oven and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kissing the ouchies away

  1. That makes me want a minor surgery…

  2. lizcare says:

    I first saw your story when I read the White House Easter Egg Roll, Infertility to Parenthood, and found it quite charming and your family adorable. I write you today, because I’ve been where you have been and continue to building your family, and I also reach out to others still on their journey to parenthood. This coming weekend in honor of those still on their quest to celebrate their own Mother’s Day, we are hosting the A Family of My Own Fertility & Adoption Conference on Sat, May 12. I hope that I may request that you may share this information with others. Kindly. Liz

  3. Wow, congrats on your new gig! And what a great attitude to take while recovering. I tend to do the same as you; I notice that I think positively and it’s during those times that good things seriously come my way. It’s not some hocus pocus trickery because like you said, bad things still happen even with good thoughts. But maybe it’s because I’m able to bounce back quicker, or aim a little higher when I try to think positive and imagine myself in the position I want to have.

Leave a Reply

