Lights. Camera. Action!

20120518-201917.jpg

At my new gig I see my journalistic shero Candy Crowley in the halls (she also has fantastic taste in shoes and handbags I’ve learned). And Wolf Blitzer often films shots near my desk.
I am in starstruck journo heaven seeping in the fast paced world of top tier tv journalism.
So yeah, the theme to “The Jeffersons” has been playing in my head all week.
But while I’ve thrilled in the exciting mix of stories, I felt like the world’s worst mommy when I dropped a teary-eyed kiddo off for her first day at “school” this week.
She actually clung to my dress and wailed this morning as I struggled to wrangle her into her cute pink dress for picture day.
She bawled when I waved goodbye and my heart clenched.
And of course the much lauded webcam at the center wasn’t up and running today. So much for my lunchtime check in (read: spy session).
Hours later, I arrived to find her red eyed and fussy. She toddled out of her teacher’s lap and ran to me.
Truthfully, I just wanted to snatch her up right then and there and smother her with kisses. But I was trying to play it cool.
Apparently, most of the toddlers her age were too weepy for picture day. So sorry nana, no first day pics this time around.
But I didn’t care about any of that. When we got home I basked in the dozens of little kisses she planted all over my face. What bliss!
Still, I guess moving up comes at a price.
Though I must admit, my hours are rather ideally suited to life as a mom who works outside of the home.
We spent afternoons this week swinging, hanging at the splash park, eating ice cream, and getting our arts and crafts on.
And as for next Friday, I guess mommy will have to tune into that webcam. Now THAT’s must-see tv.

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in Diapers and Deadlines and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

