The masochist

I’m a masochist.
I must be. Who in their right mind would take on a new job, an IVF, trying to buy a house that will require a total renovation, and selling a house all in the same period?

A glutton for punishment, that’s who.

Trying to look at all of this as an exciting new adventure. This chapter of our lives certainly has a surreal funhouse feel.

A famous conservative was none too pleased with a story I wrote. The whole thing was a bit funny in that for several days I had no idea there was such a fuss.

The house we’re considering buying and fixing up inexplicably has a hot tub in the basement and a vending machine which dispenses grape and orange soda and Miller Lite.
Guess which one is staying if we get the place.

The day I start hormone injections for the IVF is the same day I’m supposed to fly to meet company brass. The first few days of hormone injections I’m usually a weepy, sentimental sap…
This will be fun.

Our real estate agent wants us to go on the market the week after we get a ratified contract with the sellers of the crazy hot tub house. We still have a granite counter to have installed and several other odds and ends to tie up. I see the future and it includes a handyman. Kaching!

My husband has declared us “Insane” for taking all of this on. I agree and told him “Yeah, but it wouldn’t be our lives if there wasn’t a dollop of crazy in it.”

Here’s to wading into the deep end.

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in Diapers and Deadlines, House Rules, In the Oven and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

