The Supreme Court and surviving the two week wait

One of the most excruciating parts of an IVF cycle is the two week wait until you can take a pregnancy test.
That’s POAS (pee on a stick) after the 2ww to those in the know.
Luckily the Supreme Court is making sure I don’t have much time this week to obsess over whether I’m preggo or not. Between the health care law, our first home going on the market, and my little sister’s quest for a wedding dress—yesterday was an emotional roller coaster.
The landmark law transforms the nature of health care in this country. It was an awesome experience to report on the historic day. Your girl Friday knocked out an analysis.
During my downtime I waxed nostalgic about our little starter home which hit the market yesterday. It was the first home we lived in as a couple after years of apartment dwelling. We DIYed most of the work transforming an awkward house in need of TLC into an adorable jewel box of a home.
And my once awkward little sister has grown into a beautiful young woman on the cusp of the most exciting phase of her life. Every time I look at my daughter (who is the spitting image of her aunt) I think about the baby who toddled after me and always had a smile at the ready.
She’s going to make a gorgeous bride.
We’re facing so many beautiful transitions that it hardly seems right to obsess about what could be. Sure, I have hope that I’ve got a little one on board.
But I’m also relishing the amazing highlight reel that is our lives at this moment. At first glance it may seem like chaos, but somehow, right now, life has a beautiful symmetry.

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in Diapers and Deadlines, In the Oven and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

