Anniversary Antics

20120714-063937.jpg

As I write this my sleeping toddler’s foot is in my face. My poor hubby’s sleeping on the couch downstairs. My unopened gift is in the trunk of the car. And I just ate our anniversary cake slice alone, a day late…and for breakfast.
Happy 9th Anniversary honey!
The day started out rocky.
The kiddo woke up at 4:30 am and cried for an hour because we wouldn’t let her get out of bed to play.
All I could think was “Go the F@ck to sleep.
So because she was exhausted from her bizarre early morning tantrum, we were rushed getting out of the house.
I spent the morning chasing stories that didn’t materialize at work. My hubby planned a surprise romantic lunch at a fancy restaurant which–after pushing the reservation time back twice–was ruined when I had to cancel to chase down a story.
We had just enough time for a few sips of soda before I had to rush back to the office.
He was crushed.
And the story was killed anyway.
Bad wifey. Bad wifey.
I figured I could make it up to him by planning a romantic late night picnic. So I sent a sweet Evite then rushed off to have my blood drawn for yet another infertility test.
Mission accomplished on the medical front, I enjoyed one whole blissful hour of me time before my next appointment. I painted my toes and plotted the romantic evening.
Then it was off to the kiddo’s parent teacher conference night.
Yeah I know. She’s only 18 months. Such is the overachiever culture of Washington DC parenting.
Apparently my kid doesn’t eat paste or bite other kids. She plays nicely. Always says please and thank you and loves “Ring around the roses”.
Watch out Harvard.
Anyhoo…
I lugged the kiddo to the grocery store to buy items for the night of amore.
She helped me pluck rose petals and dutifully tossed leaves in the trash.
Then I heard a key in the door.
It was the hubby. Home early.
Crap!
The baby was still up.
Dinner wasn’t made.
I had on an old t-shirt.
Not sexy.
Z was so happy to see daddy that she got her second wind.
She jumped. She played. She laughed.
The one thing she didn’t do: sleep.
A worn out hubby finally begged me to wake him up later when she was settled and went downstairs to catch some kid free sleep.
The kiddo stayed up for another hour.
My parents called to wish us a happy anniversary. I swear they cackled with glee when I told them the tale. Seems payback is a mofo and mommy spoiled her own share of romantic evenings for her parents.
Me and the kiddo watched “Wonder Pets” and finally collapsed in bed together.
The hubby tried to wake me up later apparently, but to no avail.
And I just realized that bottle of wine is still in the freezer.
Sigh.
Ok, I’m going to salvage this. That wine will help make an awesome mimosa which will pair nicely with homemade beignets for a yummy breakfast in bed. Ooh, and the 9th anniversary gift is pottery, maybe we can paint some today.
As for tonight, I’m gonna tire the kiddo out so she’ll be nice and sleepy.
Time for round two.

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in Diapers and Deadlines and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

