A year of peace and blessings

20120804-045409.jpg

“Peace and blessings manifest with every lesson learned.” Erykah Badu

So I am now another year older.
And I feel so much wiser.
This has been a year of amazingly profound spiritual and emotional realizations for me and I am so deeply grateful for the opportunity to move closer to my divine purpose.
This was the year I finally came to value my worth and understand that nothing, and I mean nothing, is worth sacrificing my emotional and personal well being.
This was the year I began standing fully in my truth.
It meant taking a risk and leaving the newspaper world of my youth and embarking on a new job path in television and online media.
It meant standing firm in only taking jobs that allowed me to gain the kind of work-life balance I desperately craved.
But once I let go of the comfort of the old and believed that there was a new way to make my dreams happen, amazing things blossomed.
I found work that allows me to use my talents in new and exciting ways while allowing for lots of quality time with my little girl.
My infertility struggles and ovarian cancer scare forced me to pause and realize that my body has endured a lot these past few years and deserves kindness. This week the infertility doc told me she thinks that with meds and luck we do have a chance at becoming pregnant with my eggs after all.
Go body. It’s your birthday!!!!
I now know it is important to cherish my body’s amazing strength. So this month I began a 40 day prayer and meditation fast with a lovely circle of powerful women to focus on honoring this vessel.
I spent my birthday getting a much needed deep tissue massage, getting sorely needed sleep, and relaxing in a perfumed bubble bath.
My hard working husband and I have learned to steal moments to cherish each other. He worked from home on my birthday and his presence was truly the best present. We lounged in bed and had coffee and pastries and watched some tv shows. We went house hunting. We had lunch together.
No kid. No dog. No racing to get to work. Just us.
It was pure bliss.
And we’re moving on from the cocoon of our little starter home to a place large enough for us to expand our family. We are speaking that dream into existence.
And you, dear reader.
You are my silent cheerleaders.
You have cheered me on. Read my woes and cried with and comforted me. Rejoiced in my triumphs. Laughed with me at my follies. You’ve sent me encouraging messages on Facebook and email. You’ve reposted my blog missives. Just knowing you’re there (and, according to WordPress, there are a TON of you who click on this page–some even in other countries) has meant the world to me.
So thank you, thank you for supporting my dreams.
May all of our dreams manifest and may we all experience peace and blessings in the upcoming year.

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in Diapers and Deadlines, House Rules, In the Oven, The Polichick's Handbag, The Rose Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A year of peace and blessings

  1. Rachel Mollins says:

    You really are an amazing writer, mother and 100% fabulous woman. I am proud of all you have accomplish and will accomplish down the road. Your journey is an insperation and I am blessed to have you in my life.

  2. Rachel Mollins says:

    Perhaps I should have proof read that before hitting reply… LOL sorry for the typos. *huggles

  3. momshieb says:

    So happy to have found out there in blogland! You’re kinda living the life I used to dream about; power to you!!

Leave a Reply

