Point of View

20120828-100531.jpg
Just a few days ago this bucolic view from my hotel room was one of stormy skies and choppy waves that made me worry that my first floor hotel room in Tampa would flood.
Oh what a difference a day makes.
I’ve spent the past few days working 14 hour days, scurrying back and forth at the RNC, writing frantically, trying to close on our new house from afar, and missing my daughter terribly.
Yesterday, when we were told our closing would have to push back a few more days I looked at the dark rising tide near the Tampa forum and fought back tears.
But after a full night’s sleep and great breakfast on the terrace of my hotel room–which now is a lot less like a watery grave and actually a pleasant place to chill—I feel much better.
So the closing is delayed.
At least we’ll soon have our home.
So the weather sucked.
The poor people on the Gulf Coast, including several relatives with new babies, are worried about yet another hurricane ravaging the area.
So I’m missing my princess.
At least I get to Skype and see her precious pretty face every morning and night.
And I’ll see her soon before rushing off to the DNC in Charlotte.
Talk about a lovely view.

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in Diapers and Deadlines, House Rules, The Polichick's Handbag and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

