No place like home!

20120910-214430.jpg
The picture above sums it all up.
We’re thrilled to have found our new home. And, after the past three weeks–like Diana Ross playing Dorothy–we’re too damned old for that drama.
Let’s see, we sold our cute little hip and hood adjacent starter home to a sweet young lady.
Then we found our dream home in a great neighborhood with good schools, a quick commute, and plenty of room to grow. But because the sellers were underwater on their mortgage and working abroad in Japan on a Navy boat with little communication the negotiations took a looong time.
The hubby and kiddo crashed with friends and their kid while I covered the DNC and RNC conventions and tried to help keep our house deal from unravelling.
First, there was the discovery that our dream home has no heat to the master suite or basement family rooms.
There was the leaky roof.
The rusted boiler which threatened to catch fire.
Several delayed closings.
A near miss with a threatened hurricane in Tampa.
A sick kiddo who caught a bug from our friends’ kid. She cried nightly for mommy.
A sick hubby who not only caught the same bug but threw up at the bank while getting financing documents and nearly fainted.
Sixteen plus hour work days away from my family.
And finally, a closing that took place just 90 minutes after I returned from the DNC.
Moving this weekend seemed like a piece of cake after all of that. I don’t even care that our box spring didn’t fit up the stairs.
Gives us a great excuse to get a new bed with a split box spring.
Lots of new info too.
I learned that I’m past that phase of my life when I needed to feel validated by a job that required high profile travel. An occasional assignment is cool, but my most important role is at home with my family.
I learned that my husband is THA MAN!!! Seriously, he held it down solo daddy style and did it while sick and working his regular gig. Love ya boo!!!
I learned that some things are worth waiting and fighting for. We scrimped and saved and ended up with the kind of house that we’ve always dreamed of.
And oh yeah, I learned that there is truly no place like home.

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in Diapers and Deadlines, House Rules and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No place like home!

  1. Eun says:

    Love it! Congrats on pulling through and doing it with style!

  2. Ironsart says:

    Thanks for the props, honey. For the record, though, ladies “faint”. Guys can “black out”, or “pass out”, or even “lose consciousness”….but not faint. If I’m gonna collapse into a heap on the floor, I’m gonna do it in a manly way.

Leave a Reply

