Providence

20121103-065220.jpg

We could have been in this bed.
But instead we were safe and snug in the basement during Hurricane Sandy when two intertwined trees came crashing through the forest behind our house, across the hot tub, through the skylights, across the bed, and through the other side of the house.
My first instinct: cover my young daughter with my body as the house shook during the accident.
My second instinct: call our home insurance company after the accident.
Both were the right call.
We’re ok. The house will be repaired.
And…get this…
The house we’re renting is a home we toured during our home search two months ago. We really liked the place (it even has an artists studio) but it was just out of our price range.
A chance phone call to the friendly agent led to her pleading our case with the owner. Apparently he needed to rent the place over the winter to help with mortgage.
We move in today!
This whole experience, frightening as it was, has been one of the most beautiful and illuminating of my life.
I learned that listening to your inner voice is truly important. When we bought the home a little voice suggested I buy extra insurance. So glad I listened! So far, the company is taking good care of us. Fingers crossed that this continues.
I learned that this mama’s love for her daughter trumps EVERYTHING. Instead of grabbing my brand new evening gown during the storm I grabbed my kid’s Halloween costume. She was one happy little bumble bee, buzzing from her sugar high after her first Trick or Treating outing.
I learned that sometimes the kindness of strangers can be a tremendous gift. We’ve also gotten to know so many of our amazing neighbors this week.These people ran out of their homes during the storm and banged on the door, called the fire department, called, and emailed. They’ve offered us hot meals and showers, playdates and empathy.
I learned that sometimes life’s random chaos leads to an amazing adventure. The house we’re renting was the home of a local sculptor. So there’s amazing statues in random places in the yard. The house was also where a well known medium held meditation circles. Our landlord told us with a blissful smile “there’s some amazing good energy here. We did a lot of good work here.”
That’s just friggin cool!
Most importantly, whether huddled in the basement, crammed in a hotel room, bunking in a rental, or back in our dream home, it’s wonderful just being together basking in the love of our little family unit.

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in Diapers and Deadlines, House Rules, The Rose Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

