Good fences make good neighbors

20121106-060844.jpg
Yesterday, I had to put an inconsiderate real estate agent in check.
She kept scheduling viewings of the rental even as we were unpacking boxes, painting, and trying to get settled. We gritted our teeth and bore it this weekend since renting was a last minute deal and the showings for the house (which is on the market for sale) were preset.
However, after working an extremely long day, dealing with the move, having to pee and finding myself locked out of the rental I was at my limit. When she called at 4:15pm and insisted on an Election Day showing for a couple visiting from out of town, I put my foot down.
I explained we work in political media and needed to rest during the day on Tuesday in anticipation of a long work-filled night. She pushed. I held firm and offered Weds. She set it up for Monday at 5pm instead, against my wishes.
That was the last straw.
Let’s just say we all had a come to Jesus convo about respect and boundaries. There will be no more impromptu visits…at least not ones we’ll accommodate. Instead, we’ve offered a range of days and times when we’re out that lend themselves to showings.
That’s growth.
I have not always had clear boundaries.
There have been times when my failure to listen to my inner voice and adequately and consistently let people know where I stand led to situations where I allowed others to take advantage of me and treat me poorly.
There have also been times when, in a reaction to the hurt caused by those situations, I became inflexible and hard.
Neither is the right course.
I believe that the Creator is merciful and will give you a lesson repeatedly until you finally understand what is truly best for you.
Consistently, this year’s lessons have involved listening to my inner voice, sticking up for myself, and setting boundaries.
Earlier this year, I had an awful experience in which someone kept trying to push me to my limit in an attempt to break my spirit. I finally spoke up for myself and pushed back with all my might.
All of a sudden amazing blessings unfolded and the Creator delivered me from that situation.
I learned from past experiences and set clear boundaries on work versus family time and, as a result, now have a work schedule that benefits both areas of my life.
I listened to my inner voice in pushing for what was best for us in both home and car buying negotiations and the result was getting great deals.
I listened to my inner voice in buying additional home insurance and keeping my family in the basement during Hurricane Sandy. Both calls were life changing.
And now I’m trying to still all the craziness around me, get quiet, and meditate on how the Creator best wants us to expand our family.
I know that inner voice is speaking.
I just have to listen.

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in House Rules and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

