When life hands you lemons…

20121121-113340.jpg

My outlook is a lot sweeter this morning.
After all, I am FINALLY getting some rest after helping our household recover from the stomach flu.
It was a battle that included getting puked on repeatedly by my poor sick kiddo. And down went mommy.
Continued buyer home tours of the home we’re temporarily renting—apologies to anyone who fell victim in the quarantine zone…we did warn you.
A Sesame Street marathon to appease a toddler on the mend while her parents struggled. That Elmo theme haunts my dreams.
And a 90 minute trip to purgatory (read: the DC DMV) while feeling queasy and wrangling a busy toddler.
Just call me Lazarus!
And in the spirit of being reborn, I’m newly enthused about the reno on our Hurricane Sandy ravaged 1920s cottage style bungalow. It’s a three month project that will mean a revamped master, new roof, new floors upstairs and redone floors throughout, new paint inside and out, and fresher landscaping.
The hubby and I are also considering popping for some additional changes that we’d always planned to do down the road. Might as well do it now while the home is undergoing a complete facelift.
Would love input as we Brain “Storm” our Reno. Please follow me on Pinterest ( “Polichick”) and share your pins.
And, in the spirit of celebrating new life, I’m doing a Mother’s Day 5k to help raise awareness of hyperemesis gravidarum .
The race will give me a wonderful woman-centered goal to focus on as I rebuild physical, emotional, and spiritual strength in the hopes of getting pregnant again.
And even if the universe decides that pregnancy is not our path, I’m so looking forward to falling in love again with my original house, my body. This temple has withstood so much these past few years.
It deserves to be honored.
And right now I’m so happy and grateful for the opportunity I could just cry.
Raising a glass to reclaiming the sweet life!

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in House Rules, In the Oven and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

