Of good cheer

The ceiling of the hospital infusion center is festooned with cheery scenes of blue sky and cherry blossoms in bloom. It is a faux pastoral collage designed to take our minds off the pain.
I sit dutifully after the nurse had to try eight times to find a vein that isn’t shot to shingles so she can run my IV.
Attempt number nine is successful and I wait while the “banana bag” of saline and vitamins drips…precious fluids that will hopefully keep me and my unborn child healthy.
This is how pregnancy has been for me.
A daily and weekly balance of vital medical treatments, caring for our toddler, and trying to balance a fast paced job covering federal policy and politics.
Some days are easier than others.
Some days I feel well enough to turn several stories and then give my daughter several turns on the swings or slide after work.
Other days I am left doubled over in pain in bed, dry heaving, and dehydrated.
On those days I thank God for my stalwart husband’s efforts to care for me and our daughter while working a full time job.
I am thankful for the kind friends who see me struggling and offer to sit for our daughter.
I am thankful that we are back in our home after Hurricane Sandy and the ceilings I stare up at during bedrest are our own and freshly painted.
Today is one of the rough days and I’m feeling sick, weak, tired, and bummed. But I know I’m lucky when I look over and see the chemo patient getting his transfusion.
He too is in pain, but we manage to flash each other encouraging, genuinely cheery smiles during our treatments.

20130419-150649.jpg

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in Diapers and Deadlines, In the Oven and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

