Mama’s got a brand new (IV) bag

20130531-151126.jpg

Never wear a chunky bracelet to your umpteenth IV session…it compresses already compromised veins.
Just one of the many bits of wisdom I’ve learned during my high risk pregnancy.
I’ve learned how to best prep my veins and switch arms from week to week to avoid a collapse.
I’ve learned that for me a slower drip is always better than a fast one and, while low blood pressure is good, pressure that is too low is not.
I’ve also learned that my obsession with time management is a huge asset when trying to juggle a major illness, a high risk pregnancy, co-parenting a toddler, and a demanding job. God bless the schedule and woe to anyone who wastes my time…it ain’t pretty.
I’ve truly learned my limits. No, I can’t run a ton of errands or romp at the park with the little one on an infusion day…no matter how great I “think” I feel. And yes, offers of help from the hubby and friends have been greatly appreciated and put to good use.
Mostly, I’ve learned to truly appreciate those glorious moments of respite.
Oh how wonderful the relief, after hours of pain, that blissful moment of release.
How good it is to drink something cold, sweet, and tart when you’ve been unable to swallow more than a few sips for a day or more.
How lovely to sit outside in the glorious sunshine with my daughter blowing bubbles after weeks spent confined to bed.
Thank you, thank you Creator for such precious gifts.

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in Diapers and Deadlines, In the Oven and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

