There’s always another train

20140418-071828.jpg
Yesterday, the bus doors slammed in my face and pulled off before I could get on board.
My family quickly regrouped, put on coats, jumped in the car, and got me to the train station.
I raced up the platform and ran to the train. The subway doors slammed in my face.
For a moment, I was ticked.
“What was all that damned hustling to get me here for,” I thought huffily.
“Damn it! Now I’m going to be late for work,” I thought angrily.
Then I remembered a bit of Zen wisdom from my husband, John, who embodies inner peace:
“There is always another train.”
Indeed, I looked at the scheduled arrivals and, sure enough, a train was headed my way in two minutes.
I made it on time for work. I even had time to grab a doughnut on the way.
Recently, our family faced a closed door.
My husband was laid off from his graphic design job of seven years.
The company loved him and his work, but they are downsizing their print operations and he was caught in the mix. He was given a decent severance, so that helped.
Still, when the news dropped, we were stunned.
We have a new baby.
Our oldest attends a private, co-op preschool.
We have a mortgage on our new home and bills.
We are like the millions of other families who have found themselves in the same situation during our country’s economic crisis.
We were sad. He loved where he worked and his coworkers.
We were angry. Once again we found ourselves facing another major life hurdleso soon after overcoming my high risk pregnancy and baby’s heart defect.
We were scared. Would we struggle to make ends meet, we wondered.
But then, we regrouped.
And we pulled together as a family.
We trimmed and are continuing to adjust our budget. We’re eating out less and cutting extra expenses.
And we realized that the layoff provides my husband with just the right opportunity to expand his art business. After all, he’s a trained fine artist who can paint, sketch, draw, animate, illustrate, layout, and design just about anything for print and web.
We are all very excited by the opportunity this provides for my husband who has long dreamed of animating films, designing board games, and pursuing a number of art ventures.
Like he says: “There’s always another train.”

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in Diapers and Deadlines and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

