HerStory…5,000 views strong

20121123-000047.jpg

They sat there, the two of them, my caramel-colored friend and, as she puts it, my “peanut butter vanilla” colored daughter, lovingly combing each other’s tresses.

They are daughters of Africa raised in America—one from Egypt the other from the rich mélange of ethnicities that make up our African American heritage.

As I watched them, showering each other with care and devotion, all felt right with the world.

For this was a friend who was there for me when this hoped-for child was a dream I worried might never come true. And now, after writing about wars and death abroad for several years, I was grateful that this friend had returned to us safe and sound and would be a part of this child’s life.

You too have shared in our lives, dear readers.

You are the unseen supporters who, as of today, have helped me reach a blog milestone of more than 5,000 views.

I began this blog with one mission: to regale with tales of life as a pot and pan, pen and pad-wielding mama on a quest to strike harmony in the work-life balance.

And you’ve made the journey with me through infertility struggles, a high risk pregnancy, Hurricane Sandy, preschool sagas, hair stories, old jobs, new jobs, a new baby and more.

I am deeply honored and thank you for reading.

About domesticpolichick

My life is a crazy jumble of sitcom-level domestic hijinks and fast-paced political reporting in the nation's capital. Breastfeeding while doing a phone interview with a senator...yep, I've done it and no, I won't reveal the name. Toddler calling a member of Congress on the cell..yeah, that really did happen. Pregnant in high heels on Capitol Hill trying to chase down a particularly grumpy senator, yeah...that was nuts. But what can I say? I'm just one domestic polichick trying to figure out the work-life balance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

